Black Screen of Death after upgrading ubuntu! How to roll back the upgrade?

If you get Black Screen of Death after upgrading ubuntu.
You may like to rollback or uninstall the upgrade.

To do so, first you need to run the computer in Recovery Mode:

  • Reboot the computer
  • At GRUB screen, select the line which starts with “Advanced options” and then line ending with “(recovery mode)”
  • It will ask for username and password.
  • On successful login, type following command:
        sudo apt-get remove –-auto-remove upgrade-system
             
 Note: if unable to run the above command, you may have to run following command before removing the upgrade:
 sudo dpkg –configure -a 
(If it doesn’t try running sudo apt-get install -f (to fix broken packages) and then try running sudo dpkg –configure -a again )
Reboot the computer! 
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s