Black Screen of Death after upgrading ubuntu! How to roll back the upgrade?

If you get Black Screen of Death after upgrading ubuntu.
You may like to rollback or uninstall the upgrade.

To do so, first you need to run the computer in Recovery Mode:

  • Reboot the computer
  • At GRUB screen, select the line which starts with “Advanced options” and then line ending with “(recovery mode)”
  • It will ask for username and password.
  • On successful login, type following command:
        sudo apt-get remove –-auto-remove upgrade-system
             
 Note: if unable to run the above command, you may have to run following command before removing the upgrade:
 sudo dpkg –configure -a 
(If it doesn’t try running sudo apt-get install -f (to fix broken packages) and then try running sudo dpkg –configure -a again )
Reboot the computer!